Briefs

Facebook is addictive.

It truly can be addictive, my one gripe so far is the stupid and or irrelevant status updates friends feel obligated to share. If your status update is neither interesting, funny nor worth a waste of the 12 precious seconds it takes to read it, please keep it to yourself.

You might find this surprising but even your friends do not give half a shit how many spoons of sugar you used in your coffee this morning. Unless of course the sugar was spiked and you got high on Xstasy, ended up eye-ing your boss and now you are in HR begging her not to file formal ‘unwanted sexual advances’ against you.

Now that I want to read.

Politics: Kenya 2012

As if Kenya didn’t suffer enough (post election violence) and isn’t politically unstable (convenience coalition of the greedy); new political alliances are sprouting up in preparation for 2012 elections.

The graves of innocent people killed in post election violence are still fresh and the image of our country in ruins torment the memory of each Kenyan and yet our leaders cannot stop salivating over 2012.

They have started to rekindle and cement tribal divisions just 1 year later and ride the wave to 2012. It is a great shame!

3N Reads

Yes I do and I have a few recommendations for anyone interested in good novels, if you’ve read them hope you enjoyed them as much as I did.

1.       Disgrace –  J. M. Coetzee

2.       A thousand splendid suns – Khaled Hosseini

3.       Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini

4.       The Power of One – Bryce Courtaney

I picked up my first John Grisham (Playing for Pizza) this week and I am eager to see if I join the millions of Grisham fans. Feel free to recommend a novel as long as it’s not a lovey – duvy – mushy type or science fiction.

Sports

My heartfelt gratitude to Liverpool for their heavy spanking of Christina Ronaldo and his ManUseless crew. If not for anything else the win gives the rest of us a week of peace from the arrogance & gloating of ManU nation.

And all the best to Michigan State Univ Spartans as they venture into March Madness.  This is the year, Go Spartans!

Know your Africa:  Meet President Andry Rajoelina

  • Madagascar president -assumed office today via a generally peaceful populist uprising
  • 34 years of age, former DJ (he was spinning as recently as the early 2000’s) and just fired mayor of Antananarivo (the capital of Madagascar).
  • The young Andry has scheduled elections in 2011.

At the age of 34, we hope President DJ plans to retire early and doesn’t have the ‘president for life’ syndrome that continues to afflict so many of our leaders.

11 thoughts on “Briefs

  1. Atii the Madagascar president assumed power through peaceful what? Okay.

    I have read Kite Runner and A thousand Splendid Suns and I agree good reads.

    Now off to update my facebook status (something like I have just commented on 3N’s blog and now I am going to read another post.)

  2. Facebook should devise a filter for status updates coz there are serial offenders whose updates every hour I’m fed up of reading. Especially those mushy ones. TUMA SMS! Kubaf!

    Local politics…I gave up a long time ago. Instead of working for Kenyans, politicians are thinking of 2012. It’s obvious that their interest lies solely in looting.

    Disgrace is a good book. Read it a while ago though. Kinda sad though. Really puts a damper on one’s moods. Grisham is on point but sometimes his books are predictable.

    I’m wondering how a DJ became president. Only in Africa! Perhaps Code Red should come up with a shadow cabinet?

  3. I’m with you on the facebook status thingie..if it’s not interesting why bother putting it up!

    As for books..i’m a sucker for anything mushy and what not..though I would recommend any Paolo Coelho book. Interesting reads.

  4. i have both books, kite runner and 1000 splendid suns, reading kite runner, looooovely! and yes facebook is really adictive! no wonder it was blocked from my work place, kenya and the rest of africa needs God, about sports i cant comment! but i am amazed you read

  5. Am one of those Grisham fans. Sad when they convert those books to movies they dont live up to the book’s standards

  6. I would recommend Wilbur Smith’s River God. It’s one of the latest books I have read that I couldn’t put down. It might appear like a myth but it has this sad ending..but I liked everything about it.

  7. khaled Hosseni’s 2 books are memorable reads. I will look for the other two you’ve mentioned.

    other books you might like are ‘Angela’s Ashes’ and ‘Tis’ both by Frank McCourt”, ‘”The God of small things’ by Arundhati Roy. ‘ and ‘Running with scissors’ by Augusten Burroughs. If you like classic books, ‘Anna Karenina’ by Leo Tolstoy is also a good read.

    other good books I know are comedy-satire, a bit girly and mostly have pink covers.. (benefits of being a chic).

    I deactivated my facebook account, fb is exhausting. I figured if something is worth telling me, my friends (not those ‘see how popular I am types on facebook’ ) will definitely give me a buzz.

Leave a Reply

